Bespoke Lifestyles News
SDA Explained

SDA Explained

It can be difficult to navigate between the different NDIS Home and Living Acronyms – SDA, ILO, SIL, STA, MTA.  This month we’ve asked our Support Coordinator Anthony De Luca to provide us with an overview of SDA.  Having now supported a number of people to apply for SDA, we consider Anthony to be our in-house expert.

What is SDA?

Specialist Disability Accommodation (SDA) is a funding category within an NDIS plan that provides specialised housing for people with a disability. There are a few different categories of SDA properties. Properties range from purpose built, independent apartments; up to homes where you can live with 2-3 other eligible participants.

SDA will provide funding towards the cost of the physical environment for eligible NDIS participants to live and receive their daily supports. However, eligible participants will still be required to contribute 25% of their disability pension plus 100% rental assistance.

Am I eligible/criteria?

The NDIS provides SDA funding for people with an extreme functional impairment, and / or require very high support needs. If your current home environment is unsuitable and you can’t live in a mainstream property because of your extreme functional impairment or very high support needs, the NDIS may consider you eligible for SDA.

Below are some photos of a High Physical Support, SDA category home with adjustable benchtops in the kitchen and wide doorways. These are key features of most SDA properties.

If you would like to know more information, please contact Anthony De Luca.